top of page

Congratulations! You are having a Baby

Congratulations!! This is one of the most exciting times of your life. The excitement of a little one, ultrasounds, and so many fun things to plan for. You've already been for ultrasounds (anxiously awaiting for a glimpse of you're little guy or gal), thinking of names, planning a nursery, and watching your belly grow!! This is such an exciting time in your life and another reason to document your journey!

WHERE TO START:

You have probably already started taking pictures. Maybe every month to show off your growing belly or ultrasound pictures at the doctors office. There are so many special memories to capture. Take a few moments to think about what important events you may want to capture. Whether you choose me or someone else. These are a few sessions you may want to have.

Maternity Pictures:

Maternity pictures have really become popular over the last several years. It's a wonderful way to show off your growing belly and to show the love you have for someone you will soon meet. This is a great time to also include dad and other siblings. This is a great way to have something to look back on and remember the special time in your life before your little one was here. Pregnancy is only for a short time (although now it may feel like it goes on forever). I recommend pictures around 30 weeks but can be anywhere from 28 weeks to 35 weeks (this is a great time to show off your belly). You can always schedule an appointment anytime, but closer to babies due date you may have the baby first or just really feel uncomfortable. Feel free to call me to talk about outfits or locations!!

Birth Photography:

Don't panic it's not as weird as you think. This is something really new but I have to say I wish I had hired someone. It's not about showing mom with her bad hair and worst facial expressions. Talk with your photographer about what images you would like and what you may not want to capture. Hiring a birth photographer is a great way to have memories to look back on without worrying about if someone is good at taking pictures or having to worry about the camera at all. Let someone else worry about the details while you and your loved ones focus on meeting your little one. This is a great way to capture daddy seeing the baby for the first time or grandma. The first cry or first time you hold your little one. Having this little one is a once in a lifetime event let someone capture memories for you. Birth is a private thing and there may be certain times you want someone taking pictures or around. These are all things you can talk with your photographer about. More then likely you will not even know the photographer is there (they know how to be discreet and when and what pictures you may want to look back on).

I wish I had hired a photographer. My husband was gone for both of our kids being born. It turns out that my mom was put in the hospital the day before I had my first and I ended up with a c-section. I am so thankful for hospital staff who took photos for me and let me skype for a minute with my husband( no I did not plan to skype or want too....but he was there to talk to me and to see our little girl before I even saw her. I wouldn't trade that for anything). That being said I'm so thankful for my photos I have, but no they are not professional quality.

It's ok if birth photography is still not in your plans. You can always opt for the First 24 Plan. This means a professional (me..lol) comes to the hospital and takes some great photos of you with the baby, dad, and your little one while he/she is only a day old. This is a great time to capture those cute little toes, mommy and daddy holding their little one, grandparents or special visitors meeting the baby.

Now for the more traditional route:

Newborn Pictures:

I recommend you take these before the baby is 14 days old. This is the best time to capture the baby while they are the most restful. A newborn baby loves to sleep (especially during the day)! This is a great time for pictures while baby wants to sleep and before he/she really starts growing. Please feel free to contact me about clothing concerns, ect. I usually allow about 2 hours for this session. Babies may need to be held or most importantly want to eat. We allow several breaks for the little one. Plan to come and relax for a bit and enjoy pictures being taken of your little one. Congratulations!!

First Year Plan:

The first year plan consists of pictures from 3 months, 6 months, 9 months, and 12 months. The first year is such a special year and they change so much. We would love to help you capture your babies first year. I love the more traditional approach but a lot of fun pictures along the way. Please ask me about panel pictures for the end of babies first year. I also offer these in oil paintings as well(this is something that will last a hundred years). I look forward to hearing from you.

No matter who you choose make sure to document this special time!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page